Digitally-Driven

Dreamforce 2020: Analysis & Inside Story

The Dreamforce 2020 conference was held in December 2020 and for the first time ever 100% virtually. Fabrice Schwertz, Salesforce Sales Director at EI-Technologies, a subsidiary of the Cognizant group, looks back at Salesforce’s key announcements on this occasion.

dreamforce 2020
Fabrice Schwertz
Salesforce Sales Director at EI-Technologies

Dreamforce, digital transformation indicator

Although the new remote format of the event meant that the participants were unable to interact with each other in person as they usually would, Fabrice Schwertz thought that the spirit of the event remained the same. “Dreamforce gives us an insight into Salesforce’s strategy in response to the digital transformation of the world and of businesses, anticipating French market developments three years ahead. In this last edition, Salesforce also announced an increased growth target, passing from the $21 billion milestone to $51 billion in 2026. Salesforce estimates to generate a revenue growth of  17% per year on its existing products, and of 38% per year by capitalising on the acquisition of Slack. For Fabrice Schwertz, this acquisition is also one of the key announcements as Slack “gives Salesforce the missing communication layer that it was looking for to offer its customers to fully benefit from an extended enterprise ecosystem”. Another important feature was the strengthening of Salesforce’s B2C focus, which involves optimising the customer experience in conjunction with a multi-channel approach. Last but not lease, Salesforce announced its entry into the world of “Robotic Automation Process”, with the launch of Einstein Automate, recalled Fabrice Schwertz.

Towards more agility with Hyperforce

Marking a significant technological shift, Hyperforce is the result of two years of work to revamp the Salesforce platform. “The idea behind Hyperforce was to bring the Salesforce infrastructure closer to the clients. With Hyperforce, the CRM software vendor will be able to move its own infrastructure to large public clouds such as Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure or Google Cloud Platform, and thereby refocus on its core business. In doing so, Salesforce has also proven that it is fully committed to meeting the regulatory requirements of its corporate customers, who will in future be able to store their data in the region of their choice. At the same time, the technical developments meet the requirements of organisations seeking ever greater compliance, security, operating independence, or reversibility. For Salesforce, this technological disruption represents an important vector for reducing costs, particularly by pooling the maintenance of its various infrastructures.

A partnership built on expertise

For the past 15 years, EI-Technologies is helping customers adapt to change with Salesforce: “Whenever Salesforce announces a new product, we deploy a team of experts dedicated to the specific product in order to master the solution and to offer an extension of the Salesforce offering that is perfectly integrated with other clouds”, explained Fabrice Schwertz. It is through its specialised knowledge and expertise that EI-Technologies keeps pace with the developments of Salesforce’s platform. “Our business as an application integrator is now moving towards increased support for the client over the long term. This means understanding their business vision and issues and being able to provide them with the relevant Salesforce solutions to support their digital roadmap”. EI-Technologies therefore focuses on three strategic dimensions within each transformation project: a business dimension, a technical dimension, and a change management dimension. With the support of the Cognizant group, EI-Technologies, which was earlier mainly an integrator, has now become an advisor-cum-integrator-cum-change manager, which now also changes its relationship with Salesforce: “we are moving towards shared governance of the accounts with long-term value creation”, pointed out Fabrice Schwertz.

Projects aimed at re-acceleration

Companies are gearing up for the recovery from the global health crisis, in particular by setting up projects to industrialise certain business processes. “As time saving is of the essence, we have, for example, noticed an acceleration of the requirements of our B2B clients for electronic signatures, for e-commerce systems combined with a ‘self-care’ approach and, for practices that allow the client not only to purchase products and services but also to manage its account independently. The Service Cloud Voice solution, which makes Customer Services more responsive, is also very popular. At EI-Technologies, in 2021, the focus will be on strengthening our support to our clients and on detecting their Salesforce requirements in order to anticipate the re-acceleration. “We will particularly focus on the success of Salesforce’s industry verticals, but also on the fast-growing clouds: Marketing, Revenue, and B2B Commerce”, concluded Fabrice Schwertz.

Digitally-Driven

Dreamforce 2020 : Analyse & décryptage

La conférence Dreamforce s’est tenue en décembre 2020, et pour la première fois en version 100% digitale. Fabrice Schwertz, Directeur Commercial Salesforce chez EI-Technologies, filiale du groupe Cognizant, revient sur les annonces-phares de Salesforce à cette occasion.

dreamforce 2020
Fabrice Schwertz
Salesforce Sales Director at EI-Technologies

Dreamforce, indicateur de la transformation digitale

Si le nouveau format distanciel de l’évènement a privé les participants des échanges humains qu’ils viennent habituellement chercher, Fabrice Schwertz avoue cependant y avoir retrouvé ses fondamentaux : « Dreamforce permet d’appréhender la stratégie de Salesforce en réponse à la transformation digitale du monde et des entreprises, et ce avec trois ans d’avance sur l’évolution du marché français ». De cette dernière édition, Fabrice a d’abord retenu l’annonce de l’éditeur sur la hausse de son objectif de croissance, avec le passage de 21 milliards de dollars à 51 milliards en 2026. Salesforce espère en effet dégager une croissance de 17% par an sur ses produits historiques, et de 38% par an en capitalisant sur l’acquisition de Slack. Ce rachat constitue également pour Fabrice Schwertz une des annonces clés puisque Slack « est la brique qui manquait à Salesforce pour offrir à ses clients la possibilité de se réaliser en tant qu’entreprise étendue ». Autre élément important, le renforcement de l’axe BtoC de Salesforce, qui passe par l’optimisation de l’expérience client corrélée à une approche multicanale. Fabrice Schwertz note enfin l’entrée de Salesforce dans le monde du « Robotic Automation Process », avec l’arrivée d’Einstein Automate.

Vers plus d’agilité avec Hyperforce

Changement technologique majeur, Hyperforce est le résultat de deux ans de travaux en vue de la réorganisation de la plateforme Salesforce. « L’idée était d’amener les infrastructures de Salesforce au plus près des clients. Avec Hyperforce, l’éditeur de CRM est en mesure de remplacer sa propre infrastructure par les grands clouds publics tels qu’Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure ou Google Cloud Platform, et se recentre ainsi sur son cœur de métier ». Ce faisant Salesforce prouve aussi qu’il fait corps avec les contraintes réglementaires des entreprises clientes, à l’avenir en mesure de stocker leurs données dans la région de leur choix. Parallèlement à cela, l’évolution technique répond aux exigences des organisations, à la recherche de toujours plus de conformité, de sécurité, d’indépendance d’exploitation, ou encore de réversibilité. Côté Salesforce, ce bouleversement technologique représente un vecteur important de réduction des coûts, en mutualisant notamment la maintenance de ses différentes infrastructures.

Un partenariat basé sur l’expertise

Depuis 15 ans, EI-Technologies est en mesure de s’adapter aux évolutions de Salesforce : « Lorsque Salesforce annonce une nouveauté nous mettons en place une équipe d’experts dédiée à la thématique afin de maîtriser la solution et d’être capable de proposer un prolongement de l’offre Salesforce parfaitement intégré aux autres Clouds », explique Fabrice Schwertz. C’est par le biais d’une connaissance et d’une expertise pointues que EI-Technologies emboîte le pas aux évolutions de la plateforme de l’éditeur. « Notre métier d’intégrateur tend aujourd’hui vers un accompagnement accru du client dans la durée. Cela implique de comprendre sa vision et ses problématiques métier et d’être capable de lui fournir les solutions Salesforce pertinentes capables de soutenir sa feuille de route digitale ». EI-Technologies évolue par conséquent sur trois axes stratégiques au sein de chaque projet de transformation : un axe métier, un axe technique et un axe d’accompagnement au changement. Fort de l’appui du groupe Cognizant, l’intégrateur s’est mué en conseiller-intégrateur-accompagnateur, ce qui bouleverse également sa relation avec Salesforce : « Nous allons vers une gouvernance commune des comptes qui s’accompagne d’une création de valeur dans la durée ».

Des projets dirigés vers la ré-accélération

Les entreprises se préparent à la reprise post crise sanitaire, en particulier par la mise en place de projets d’industrialisation de certains processus commerciaux. « Le gain de temps étant capital, nous avons par exemple constaté chez nos clients B2B une accélération des besoins en signature électronique, en dispositif e-commerce couplé à une approche ‘selfcare’, pratiques grâce auxquelles le client effectue des achats de produits et services, ainsi que des actes de gestion de son compte en toute autonomie. La solution Service Cloud Voice, qui confère une meilleure réactivité aux Services client, est également plébiscitée ». Chez EI-Technologies, en 2021, l’accent sera mis sur un renforcement de l’accompagnement des clients et sur la détection de leurs besoins Salesforce dans le but d’anticiper la ré-accélération. « Nous serons particulièrement attentifs au succès des verticaux sectoriels de l’éditeur, mais aussi les Clouds en forte croissance : Marketing, Revenue, et B2B Commerce », conclut Fabrice Schwertz.